My Latest Five Books

So, I haven’t spoken much about my other books, but I’ll talk briefly about them. My second novel, The Incident, I conceived of when I was fifteen years old. I was experiencing a difficult period of my life: a boy from my old school had been making fun of me, and I was very upset, and I later confronted him about it. He didn’t respond well to my confrontation; in fact, when I continued to want to talk to him and be friends with him, he accused me of stalking him. My family and I moved to a different state, and I started attending a new school. I had just run away from home down to our old state, and I stayed away for a week. My first psychiatrist had wanted to diagnose me with then-called manic depression. My third book, Novacadia, a novella, was inspired by a short story I wrote when I was about thirteen in a science-fiction creative writing class I attended at Duke Young Writer’s Camp. My fourth book, I’m Watching You, was inspired by events in my own life, but embellished. My fifth book, Streetwalker, was a little thriller I came up with after developing close friendships with three prostitutes. Again, almost all of the heroines in my books are me, and though I imagined myself as the prettiest streetwalker on the block, I am not a prostitute in real life. I envision my stories. I embed nature into my stories, and sometimes animals. My sixth book, He’s After Me, was a novelette I wrote in not a very long period of time, but I loved the story so much that I ran with it. The book I am working on right now is Train Tracks, about two teenage girls who run away together, Christine and Jackie. Coincidentally, Christine, who is based upon a prostitute I have met in real life, was also a character in my first book, The Heart Grows Stronger, “Miffie.” That woman probably inspired me the most out of all of them. I recently went over to her apartment and gave her a signed copy of my first book, an Italian leather journal as a belated birthday gift, and a bottle of vodka with a ribbon around it. We talked, had a couple of drinks, and listened to music. I walked home in the rain.

Published by

K. E. Ward

Author. My first novel is published under the author name, "K. E. Ward," and is available in paperback from Amazon.com and BarnesandNoble.com. My second novel and three of my novellas are published on www.free-ebooks.net. I am into creative writing, visual arts, dancing, acting, and singing. I live in a household with roommates and two dogs. I love coffee; I live in Seattle, WA. Most days I spend reading in a corner of my couch and trying to figure out how to be most creative with my time and my energy.

Leave a comment